What is the Academy?

The Mission of the Academy is to provide, through a membership organization for Board certified chiropractic orthopedists, a venue for the exchange of clinical information, promote continuing education in chiropractic orthopedics and publish a peer reviewed and indexed journal The Journal of the Academy of Chiropractic Orthopedists (JACO). The Academy provides a specialty board certification process(es) and maintain specialty credentials through maintenance of credentials and a competency program in chiropractic orthopedics.

Members of the Academy are designated as Fellows of the Academy of Chiropractic Orthopedists (FACO). Academy membership is comprised of specialty board certified chiropractic orthopedists (Diplomates). These are doctors of chiropractic who have completed extensive post-doctoral or graduate level education in non-surgical orthopedics, biomechanical, and neuromuscloskeletal medicine, and have passed a Board certification examination to become board certified chiropractic orthopedists (DACO or DABCO). The Academy is independent from all chiropractic political and trade organizations. No other chiropractic organization membership is necessary for membership in the Academy (ACO).