Awards & Honors

Chiropractic Orthopedic Examiner Emeriti

This year the following awards and honors were given to the following Fellows of the Academy.

The honor of Examiner Emeritus was given to James Brandt DC, MS, FACO. Dr. Brandt joins the ranks of a very select group including Dr. Leonard Savage, Dr. Leonard (Gene) Toon and Dr. Ronald C. Evans as recipients of this prestigious honor.

Dr. Brandt has been active with the examination process for the orthopedic Diplomate since 1984 when he began as an item writer for the Examining Board. He has remained active in orthopedics and is currently the President of the Academy of Chiropractic Orthopedists. Dr. Brandt assisted in the development of the OSCE examination format that is used today by the Academy Board. He served as Vice-Dean of the Academy in 1980-81. He was a principal in the development of the new Academy and helped change its mission from a passive organization prior to 2000 to an active and productive organization in Chiropractic Orthopedics. Dr. Brandt was president from 2001-2008 and served as Immediate Past President until 2010 when he was elected to the Presidency once more until 2018. Currently, he is the immediate Past President. He was a participant in the design, development, and implementation of the Master of Science: Clinical Chiropractic Orthopedics (MSc: CCO) advanced degree. He has devoted countless hours writing and re-writing course descriptions, content and syllabi trying to develop the Master’s program to a level where it can be approved by Northwestern Health Sciences University’s accrediting body for Master level programs. Dr. Brandt began practice in Coon Rapids, MN in 1970 and received his orthopedic Diplomate in 1980.

Previous Chiropractic Orthopedic Examiner Emeriti Award Winners:

2004 – Leonard E. Toon DC, FACO

Dr. Toon has been active for over 30 years with chiropractic orthopedics. Dr. Toon has served the ACCO, CCO and the orthopedic examination board in many capacities. Dr. Toon has been instrumental in the foreword progression of orthopedics. He retired from the duties of Academy Executive Director June 30, 2004. He has lectured and published articles germane to the orthopedist. He remains a consultant to the Academy Board and to the Coalition Examination Committee. Dr. Toon is in the process of retiring from his practice in the San Fernando Valley of California. Dr. Toon received the title “Examiner Emeritus” in 2004.

1997 – Ronald C. Evans DC, FACO

Dr. Evans has been lecturing in orthopedics for years from the local to international venues. He has been active in orthopedic specialty certification since the early 1980’s with many years a Board member and providing direction to the examining board. He was instrumental in the development of the initial Academy of Chiropractic orthopedists in the late 1970’s. In addition, he was a principal in the organization and development of the current Academy corporation. Dr. Evans is a principal author of the OSCE examination process and testing methods currently used by the Academy for the Diplomate Certification Examination. Dr. Evans serves as the Programmatic Accreditation Chairman for the Academy in its examination development. In this capacity he has been instrumental in advising and assisting the Academy in obtaining full membership in the American Educational Research Association (AREA). As the Programmatic Accreditation Chairman, he guided the Academy to its full membership in the Institute for Credentialing Excellence (ICE). Dr. Evans is tireless in his quest for improving the educational process of the orthopedic Diplomate and advanced learner. He has written five text books that are not only used by the chiropractic orthopedist, but students and specialists throughout the profession. Dr. Evans continues to offer his expertise and guidance with his Examiner status for the Academy with its Diplomate examination. He continues to be an ambassador for the orthopedic specialty. Dr. Evan’s strong work ethic continues today to benefit the Academy and its membership. He is retired from active practice in Des Moines, Iowa. Dr. Evans was granted the title “Examiner Emeritus” in 1997.

1993 – Leonard J. Savage DC, FACO

Dr. Savage along with Dr. Maynard Lipe was one of the developers and first instructors of chiropractic orthopedics. Dr. Savage began this dedication to orthopedics in the late 1960’s. His natural progression was to the orthopedic examining board where he was president for many years. Dr. Savage practiced  in Studio City, California. Under his guidance the specialty grew in stature and numbers. He was granted the title “Examiner Emeritus” in 1993. Dr. Savaged had been living in Woodland Hills, California until his death in 2011.

Distinguished Fellow Award

The Academy of Chiropractic Orthopedists acknowledges the following Fellows for distinguished achievement, service and work in their specialty of chiropractic orthopedics.

K.A. Skibsted, DC, FACO2010
James Demetrious DC, FACO2009
James R. Brandt DC, FACO2008
Stephen D. Capps DC, FACO2007
Linda Zange, DC, FACO2006
Jerrold Wildenauer, DC, FACO2005
Larry Swank, DC, FACO2004
Ronald C. Evans, DC, FACO2003

Outstanding Achievement Award

The Academy of Chiropractic Orthopedists acknowledges the following individuals for outstanding achievement, service and work on behalf of the Academy of Chiropractic Orthopedists.

Loren C. Miller DC, FACO2010
Thomas Wicks DC, PhD, FACO2009
James Demetrious DC, FACO2008
Bruce Gundersen DC, FACO2007
Kim Skibsted, DC, FACO2006
Wendy Varish, DC, FACO2005
Anthony Cacioppo DC, FACO2004

Outstanding Service Award

The Academy of Chiropractic Orthopedists acknowledges the following individuals for outstanding service and work on behalf of the Academy of Chiropractic Orthopedists.

Jeremy Stender2010
Larry Widmer2010
Christopher J. Hammer DC, DACRB, FACO2010
Dale Huntington, DC, FACO2010
Harold Tondera2010
David Swenson DC, FACO2009
Thomas Mack DC, FACO2009
Jonathan Soltys DC2008
Ward Beecher DC, FACO2008
Wayne Hebert DC, FACO2008
William J Kowalski DC, FACO2008
Warren Jahn DC, FACO2007
Bruce Gundersen DC, FACO2007
James Demetrious DC, FACO2007
Greg Norton DC, FACO2007

Examiner Emeritus

James Brandt DC, MPS, FACO2009
Leonard E. Toon DC, FACO2004

Ronald C. Evans DC, FACO1997
Leonard J. Savage DC, FACO1993

Distinguished Service Award

Kim Skibsted, DC, FACO2009

The Academy of Chiropractic Orthopedists initiated the Dr. Stephen Capps Scholarship at Texas College of Chiropractic in Houston, Texas. Dr. Capps passed away in May 2011. He was a leader in Chiropractic Orthopedics. Dr. Capps was President of the Academy of Chiropractic Orthopedists 2008-2010. He will be missed by all who knew him.